Fun with HVAC

tobefirst

not questioning anything
Reaction score
My house is about 13 years old. It has what I guess would be a standard HVAC system for the midwest. When my wife and I moved in almost 7 years ago, we installed the Nest Thermostat (either the first generation or perhaps one of the first second generation ones) we had been using in the studio we were previously in.

Lately, we've been noticing an issue. Despite the thermostat saying that the house is at, say, 67° and the heat is set to 70°, the furnace will not be on. I can remedy this by adjusting the thermostat to below the ambient temperature for a handful of seconds, and then turning it back up to where I'd like it to be. A couple seconds later, the furnace activates and hot air comes out of the vents.

Does anyone have a guess as to whether this is a furnace issue – it is starting to get old – or a thermostat issue? I tend to lean toward the latter, but I'm not an expert by any means. I'd just like to get an idea as to whether this seems obvious to anyone before calling in a service person. If it is the thermostat, I am happy to replace that myself.

Any thoughts?

Cmaier

Site Master
Staff Member
Site Donor
Reaction score
My house is about 13 years old. It has what I guess would be a standard HVAC system for the midwest. When my wife and I moved in almost 7 years ago, we installed the Nest Thermostat (either the first generation or perhaps one of the first second generation ones) we had been using in the studio we were previously in.

Lately, we've been noticing an issue. Despite the thermostat saying that the house is at, say, 67° and the heat is set to 70°, the furnace will not be on. I can remedy this by adjusting the thermostat to below the ambient temperature for a handful of seconds, and then turning it back up to where I'd like it to be. A couple seconds later, the furnace activates and hot air comes out of the vents.