Software (good/bad, what you use, free options, Q&A)

U

User.45

VB isn't nearly stout enough / feature rich to accomodate my VM needs, poor graphic performance, missing several key features, as well as a couple of slick options like Coherence mode in Parallels (which is mostly how I use it).

I've been using Parallels for ~10 years, pretty much non-stop, it's open now in fact, my machine runs 24/7 with that VM open (current uptime is ~76 days). I occasionally do a quick re-review of alternatives, though mostly the only other real commercial product in this space (VMWare).

In terms of pricing, I upgrade Parallels every 2 years at the very most, and I almost always score a deal through Parallels direct, or some kind of software bundle where I buy (and sell off the rest), or buy it from some who bought a bundle but didn't want Parallels.

I'm using the non-subscription model, mine will continue to function. I have an extra license sitting here I picked up for $10 from someone on MR, my last license was $20, I'm into it for about $30-40 over 3-4 years, and I've used it to bill, well, A LOT :D The cost is so trivial for my business, I would save more money by not printing ... and I print about once every 2 months and that's an Amazon return label :D
I run a shitty Java app (I know...) every 3 months and the rare DosBox thing. That's it.

I'm surrounded by PCs, if I need more I fire up a PC.:) Research stuff run on Linux/MacOS natively. Nota lot of missing out on Windows.

DT

I am so Smart! S-M-R-T!
Reaction score
Main Camera
iPhone
I should disclose that one of my superpowers is generally not having issues with computers/electronics. Call it luck, call it karma ...

I run a shitty Java app (I know...) every 3 months and the rare DosBox thing. That's it.

I'm surrounded by PCs, if I need more I fire up a PC.:) Research stuff run on Linux/MacOS natively. Nota lot of missing out on Windows.