New ML framework from Apple called MLX

Jimmyjames

Site Champ
Reaction score
So yesterday, a few links and articles from Apple’s ML team dropped. The one getting the most attention is “MLX”.
1701889730712.png

Looks interesting, but I admit I have little knowledge in this area. One thing that stands out is their emphasis on it’s use of unified memory. I’d be interested in people’s opinion. Is this significant, or just “nice”?

Yoused

up
Reaction score
knee deep in the road apples of the 4 horsemen
The obvious advantage to unified memory is that you can distribute ML work to the GPU, NPU and CPUs at no extra cost, which is what they have been doing with their ML Framework. What strikes me is the absence of the NPU as a "supported device". I wonder, now, will the next CPU core iteration include SVE2 as a replacement for the NPU? Seems like the gain in CPU capability would be a very good thing, OS design would be more concise, and SoC real estate would probably work out to about the same.

mr_roboto

Site Champ
Reaction score
The obvious advantage to unified memory is that you can distribute ML work to the GPU, NPU and CPUs at no extra cost, which is what they have been doing with their ML Framework. What strikes me is the absence of the NPU as a "supported device". I wonder, now, will the next CPU core iteration include SVE2 as a replacement for the NPU? Seems like the gain in CPU capability would be a very good thing, OS design would be more concise, and SoC real estate would probably work out to about the same.
Probably more to do with this being something aimed at the training side of things while the ANE is designed to run previously trained models. Training often needs more numerical precision (as I understand it, anyways) and CPU+GPU can do FP32, but the ANE is limited to 8- and 16-bit data formats.

dada_dave

Elite Member
Reaction score
So yesterday, a few links and articles from Apple’s ML team dropped. The one getting the most attention is “MLX”.