WiFi Access Point Recommendations?

Nycturne

Elite Member
Reaction score
I’ve been using an AirPort Extreme since 2013 when they launched. I eventually moved to a dedicated router, picked up a second Extreme on clearance, and been using them as wireless access points. I’d like to get a bit more range as these don’t really reach out into the yard at all, but reliability is important. What I have been using have been basically set and forget for nearly a decade now. I get more downtime from the power company than I do from my wireless network.

Any thoughts on what wireless access points to consider for an Apple-friendly household?

Cmaier

Site Master
Staff Member
Site Donor
Reaction score
I use Synology, configured as a mesh (though you can use any of their stuff stand-alone).

Very reliable. No problems with wireless Time Machine, HomeKit, etc.

Herdfan

Resident Redneck
Reaction score
I’ve been using an AirPort Extreme since 2013 when they launched. I eventually moved to a dedicated router, picked up a second Extreme on clearance, and been using them as wireless access points. I’d like to get a bit more range as these don’t really reach out into the yard at all, but reliability is important. What I have been using have been basically set and forget for nearly a decade now. I get more downtime from the power company than I do from my wireless network.

Any thoughts on what wireless access points to consider for an Apple-friendly household?

I am running a TC with 2 Airport Expresses hardwired into the same network. Have great coverage all over the house and within 50' of the house. So good in fact my ATV & Roku are running on WiFi instead of hardwired.

Like for you, they have been the Ronco of the WiFi world, Set it and Forget it. Haven't been into the setup routine in years.

Eric

Mama's lil stinker
Reaction score
Instagram
Main Camera
Sony